HeiDetect FlexCT

Flexible and non-destructive X-ray testing

The HeiDetect FlexCT is a fully automated X-ray test system for workpieces. The system mainly consists of a 7-axis system, a 6-axis robot and the test technology including a powerful SIEMENS tube as well as the ISAR and PIDA evaluation software. The glass scales and robust granite substructure of the axis system ensure the high precision and accuracy as well as excellent temperature stability of the test system. As a result, the workpieces can be measured not just with absolute accuracy but also with repeatability. The 6-axis robot ensures a high degree of flexibility regarding the test pieces. Furthermore, the use of the robot allows the inline operation of the system. Depending on the test task, the robot can carry out the loading of the axis system or the positioning of the test specimens in the beam path.

The ISAR image acquisition and evaluation software for 2D tests and PIDA software for 3D tests as well as the XEye detector allow the reference-free parametrized evaluation of images. The ISAR and PIDA evaluation software and XEye detector are tested and proven developments of the Fraunhofer X-Ray Development Centre (Entwicklungszentrum für Röntgentechnik, EZRT) who is the development partner of Erhardt + Abt. The powerful SIEMENS tube, in particular, allows new and very fast operating modes, such as DRAGONFLY as well as imaging and evaluating during the movement.

The following operating modes are possible with HeiDetect FlexCT

  • PIDA Axial CT: The rotating plate rotates the workpiece in a fixed position and with a defined speed.
  • PIDA Axial CT Robot: The robot moves the workpiece into the beam path while rotating it continuously.
  • PIDA Helix CT: The rotating plate rotates the workpiece continuously. At the same time, the source and detector move parallel to the axis of rotation.
  • PIDA Helix CT Robot: The robot moves the workpiece into the beam path and rotates it continuously. At the same time, the source and detector move parallel to the axis of rotation.
  • ISAR Stop and Go: The robot moves through an arbitrary number of defined positions. When it has reached a position, an image is taken. Then it moves to the next position where the process is repeated.
  • ISAR DRAGONFLY: The robot moves through an arbitrary number of defined positions. When it has reached a position, it reduces its speed. The image is taken during the movement in order to save valuable cycle time.

Secure and efficient system technology

The system's fully enclosed design enables its integration in the manufacturing process even under the extreme conditions of a mass production environment. The robot's gripper fingers and the workpiece retainer of the axis system must be adapted to the respective product and are therefore the only parts that need to be replaced during a product change-over. Naturally, additional functions such as laser machining and labelling can be integrated easily.

Since the detector by Fraunhofer EZRT features exceptionally low degradation, it only needs to be replaced at the earliest after approximately ten years in operation.

HeiDetect FlexCT

Flexible, zerstörungsfreie Röntgen-Prüfung

HeiDetect FlexCT ist eine vollautomatische Röntgen-Prüfanlage für Werkstücke. Die Anlage besteht im Wesentlichen aus einem 7-Achs System, einem 6-Achs Roboter und der Prüf-Technologie mit einer hochleistungsfähigen SIEMENS-Röhre und der Auswertesoftware ISAR und PIDA. Die Glasmaßstäbe und der stabile Granitunterbau des Achssystems ermöglicht dem Prüfsystem eine hohe Genauigkeit und eine sehr gute Temperaturstabilität. Dadurch kann sowohl eine absolut genaue als auch eine wiederholgenaue Vermessung der Werkstücke durchgeführt werden. Der 6-Achs Roboter bietet eine hohe Flexibilität hinsichtlich der Prüfteile. Weiter kann durch die Verwendung des Roboters die Anlage inline betrieben werden. Der Roboter kann je nach Prüfaufgabe das Beladen des Achssystems oder die Positionierung der Prüflinge im Strahlengang übernehmen.

Mit der Bilderfassungs- und Auswertesoftware ISAR für 2D-Prüfungen und PIDA für 3D-Prüfungen sowie dem Detektor XEye ist eine referenzlose, parametrierbare Auswertung der Aufnahmen möglich. Die Auswertesoftware ISAR und PIDA sowie der Detektor XEye sind erprobte und bewährte Entwicklungen des Fraunhofer-Entwicklungszentrum für Röntgentechnik (EZRT), dem Entwicklungspartner von Erhardt + Abt. Insbesondere die leistungsfähige SIEMENS-Röhre ermöglicht neue und sehr schnelle Betriebsarten wie beispielsweise DRAGONFLY, Aufnahmen und Auswertung während der Bewegung.

 

Folgende Betriebsarten sind mit HeiDetect FlexCT möglich

  • PIDA Axial CT: Der Drehteller dreht das Werkstück auf einer festen Position mit einer vorgegebenen Geschwindigkeit.
  • PIDA Axial CT Robot: Der Roboter hält das Werkstück in den Strahlengang und dreht es kontinuierlich.
  • PIDA Helix CT: Der Drehteller dreht das Werkstück kontinuierlich, während sich die Quelle und der Detektor parallel zur Drehachse bewegen.
  • PIDA Helix CT Robot: Der Roboter hält das Werkstück in den Strahlengang und dreht es kontinuierlich, während sich die Quelle und der Detektor parallel zur Drehachse bewegen.
  • ISAR Stop and Go: Der Roboter fährt eine beliebige Anzahl vorgegebener Positionen ab. Bei Erreichen der Positio- nen erfolgt jeweils eine Bildaufnahme.
  • ISAR DRAGONFLY: Der Roboter fährt eine beliebige Anzahl von Positionen ab und reduziert die Geschwindigkeit bei Erreichen der Positionen. Die Bildaufnahme erfolgt während der Bewegung um wertvolle Taktzeit zu sparen.

Sichere und effiziente Anlagentechnik

Die vollständige Einhausung ermöglicht eine Integration in den Fertigungsprozess auch bei extremen Bedingungen in der Massenproduktion. Die Greiferfinger des Roboters sowie ggf. die Bauteilaufnahme des Achssystems sind an das jeweilige Produkt anzupassen und somit die einzigen zu wechselnden Teile bei einem Produktwechsel. Selbstverständlich können auch weitere Funktionen wie beispielsweise Lasern und Labeln problemlos integriert werden.

Da der Detektor des Fraunhofer EZRT eine äußerst geringe Degradation aufweist, ist ein Wechsel frühestens nach etwa zehn Jahren erforderlich.